(blŏg) – Before it became an internet word, blog was a very strong drink.

I must admit I was skeptical at the beginning of the semester when we were told we would be required to blog. This was an activity that I had been avoiding since its creation. However, now that the end of the semester has arrived, I must confess that blogging has turned out to be a useful tool.

First, it is good practice to take time and reflect on the recent past. Some do this with meditation, some with a journal. Historically, I have not made time to really think about the past week.  Blogging has forced me to make the time to recap lessons learned in class and through course readings. I hope that this will become personal practice in the future.

Second, “group” blogging has given me the opportunity to read classmates thoughts and opinions. This often leads to good insights that there is not enough time for in class.

About this entry