Time for Me to Fly

I have been with my current employer for almost four years and is my first job out of college. I could not ask for a better place to have started a career. However, over the past year or so, I have grown increasingly concerned with the direction the company has taken. So, when I recently was offered a position at different company, I decided it might be time for me to move on.

Having a close relationship with the owners of the company, made telling them I was leaving extremely difficult. After I resigned I began to think about how I would leave my mark as an employee. I had seen past coworkers spent their last two week letting everyone know how lucky they were to be moving on while bashing their current employer. Who knows what they said in their exit interview!

I decided it would be best to maintain a positive attitude for my last two weeks and try to be as helpful as possible. I also chose not to discuss where I was going or what I would be doing unless one of the partners asked. In my exit interview, I repeatedly thanked them for the opportunities they gave me. I did give them feedback to their questions but kept it as constructive as possible.

Although I had become increasingly unhappy there, I thought it would best not to speak my mind too much. In the exit interview, I had plenty of feedback available. Some may have been important for them to know but some might have been too straightforward. So I question what is best, keep your mouth shut and leave the employer making up excuses about why you left or tell them and take the chance of offending them?

About this entry