“We” can do it!

Recently, I have been reading two books, The Leadership Challenge by James M. Kouzes and Barry Z. Posner and Good to Great by Jim Collins. So far, both of the books have cited a simple observation common to strong leaders, the use of the word we versus me or I, when discussing a group they are a part of. I believe this is a sure sign of one’s leadership ability and quality.

Over the past few weeks I have tried to be observant of this trait in my everyday interaction. When the situation presented itself and someone used us, me, etc., I made sure to take a minute and reflect on the person’s leadership.

Obviously, this is not scientific; however, I did seem to find that people frequently dropping the “I bomb” were generally not great leaders. Furthermore, the people that consistently say we were people I know are team players and exhibit positive leadership skills.

One last comment: I do have a suspicion that the use of the word I could simply be a bad habit. If someone was to be explained the concept they might change.

About this entry